wu :: forums
wu :: forums - Plz help me on Middle Chinese and Japanese Kanji

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 20th, 2024, 5:43am

RIDDLES SITE WRITE MATH! Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
   wu :: forums
   general
   chinese
(Moderators: Eigenray, Grimbal, william wu, Icarus, towr, ThudnBlunder, SMQ)
   Plz help me on Middle Chinese and Japanese Kanji
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Plz help me on Middle Chinese and Japanese Kanji  (Read 7514 times)
3island18

Plz help me on Middle Chinese and Japanese Kanji  
« on: Mar 30th, 2007, 10:28am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I'm currently doing my thesis on Japanese Go-on and Kan-on with It's Original Chinese Sounds Comparison, with "able to answer whatever reason behind any difference found in both readings with Chinese and Japanese phonology changes" as the purpose. As we all know, Go-on is created based on MC Southern dialect, while Kan-on is based on Tang's Chang An dialect (north). On Kan-on comparison, I found no problem at all, thanks to the abundant data sources about MC North dialect reconstruction (Qie Yun, Guang Yun, Yun Jing). But I really have a hard time on Go-on comparison. One because lack of data. Its seems I couldnt find any IPA reconstruction on MC Southern dialect (namely Wu). I'm currently using these books for references: Maspero's Le dialecte de Tch'ang-ngan sous les T'ang (in Chinese translated version, I'm using this book intensively on Kan-on comparison as its really helps), Dong Tong He's Han Yu Yin Yun Xue 董同龢 漢語音韻學, Liu Zhi Cheng's Han Yu Yin Yun Xue Yan Jiu Dao Lun 劉志成 漢語音韻學 研究導論, and Shoji Oshima's Kanji Denrai 大島正二 漢字傳來. But its still not enough as you can see.