wu :: forums
« wu :: forums - -=[EXAM PRACTISE]=- »

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 19th, 2024, 7:47am

RIDDLES SITE WRITE MATH! Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
   wu :: forums
   riddles
   cs
(Moderators: Icarus, william wu, SMQ, towr, ThudnBlunder, Grimbal, Eigenray)
   -=[EXAM PRACTISE]=-
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: -=[EXAM PRACTISE]=-  (Read 955 times)
Rego

Email

-=[EXAM PRACTISE]=-  
« on: Apr 17th, 2004, 4:42am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

hi, im studying for my 2nd year degreee graphics course and i came across 2 practise exam questions which i am not able to solve! could you help?

1) Give a formula in terms of dot-product for the shortest distance from the origin to the line y=mx+c

2) Use the notion of a dot-product to explain why the inverse of a rotation matrix is the same as its transpose

thanks!!!
IP Logged
Pietro K.C.

115936899 115936899    

Re: -=[EXAM PRACTISE]=-  
« Reply #1 on: Apr 17th, 2004, 10:12am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi Rego!

I'll try to give you some hints to solve #1. Call 'r' the line given by the equation 'y=mx+c', 'O' the origin, and try the following:

a. There is a shortest distance from O to r; that means there is a point on r which is closer to O than any other.

b. Draw a diagram of a generic line on the cartesian plane and pick what seems to be the point on it closest to O. Draw a line 's' from O to that point.

c. The angle between r and s - what kind of angle does that look like?

d. Prove the general case of your conjecture,  i.e. that the lines r and s, so constructed (r arbitrary, s the smallest distance between O and r), always make that kind of angle.