wu :: forums
« wu :: forums - Egg Dropping »

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 19th, 2024, 6:36pm

RIDDLES SITE WRITE MATH! Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
   wu :: forums
   riddles
   hard
(Moderators: SMQ, towr, william wu, Icarus, Eigenray, Grimbal, ThudnBlunder)
   Egg Dropping
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Egg Dropping  (Read 33257 times)
Trevor Squires

Email

Egg Dropping  
« on: Jul 25th, 2002, 4:35am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I have no math or CS background so I have to express this in the only way I know how, sorry.

Code:

public int answer(int s)
{
    int c = 0;
    for (int t = 0; t < s; t += c++ + 1);
    return c;
}

I won't say how I use the answer, lest I spoil it for others (or maybe I'm the only one that found this a challenge).

Is there anything better than this, if so how about a hint (rather than complete spoon feeding)?

Trevor
« Last Edit: Sep 2nd, 2003, 7:46pm by Icarus » IP Logged
Gamer555

Re: Egg Drop: any solutions better than this?  
« Reply #1 on: Jul 30th, 2002, 9:21am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Is the famous solution the answer?

50: If breaks, do 25, if not do 75. So on, dictomizing the answer each time...
IP Logged
Cze-jwin

Email

« Reply #2 on: Jul 30th, 2002, 12:13pm »

what if it breaks on 25..u have to find the exact floor or perhaps should i say the limit of the egg...?
IP Logged
Chronos

WWW Email

« Reply #3 on: Aug 15th, 2002, 5:18pm »

A simple answer which is close to optimal:  Drop the first egg from 10, 20, 30, etc. until it breaks.  Say it breaks on 40, but not on 30.  Then, drop the second egg from 31, 32, 33, etc.

The reason that this is not completely optimal: