wu :: forums
« wu :: forums - Mirror inversion »

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Mar 29th, 2024, 6:15am

RIDDLES SITE WRITE MATH! Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
   wu :: forums
   riddles
   hard
(Moderators: towr, ThudnBlunder, Eigenray, SMQ, Grimbal, Icarus, william wu)
   Mirror inversion
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Mirror inversion  (Read 22019 times)
BNC
Uberpuzzler

Mirror inversion  
« on: Jan 21st, 2003, 9:38am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

The following is not really a riddle. It is, however, a question I’ve been trying to figure out for some time now, unsuccessfully, and I hope that some of the brilliant people here may help.

I’m also not convinced it’s “hard”, but as I said, I couldn’t figure it out, although (on the surface) it’s an optics question, and I have a PhD in optics. I asked many colleagues of mine, some of which are University professors, and they don’t have the answer as well. So maybe it’s not an optics questions after all…

So, after the long introduction, here is the question:

Stand in front of a mirror. Look at the reflected image. Now, raise your right hand. The reflected image seems to raise its left hand. Raise your left hand. The image raises its right. So, the mirror inverts left and right.

Now, move your head up and down. The image will move up and down. So, the mirror does NOT invert up and down.

Why is the inversion not symmetrical? Why invert left-right and not up-down?

IP Logged

How about supercalifragilisticexpialidociouspuzzler [Towr, 2007]
towr
wu::riddles Moderator
Uberpuzzler

Some people are average, some are just mean.

Re: Mirror inversion  
« Reply #1 on: Jan 21st, 2003, 10:35am »

actually, my mirror image just moves the hand which is on my right when I move my hand on my right..