wu :: forums
« wu :: forums - Whimsical Teacher »

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 8th, 2024, 6:09am

RIDDLES SITE WRITE MATH! Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login Register Register
   wu :: forums
   riddles
   hard
(Moderators: william wu, Icarus, SMQ, Eigenray, ThudnBlunder, Grimbal, towr)
   Whimsical Teacher
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Notify of replies Notify of replies Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Whimsical Teacher  (Read 1320 times)
spanchap

Suresh

Whimsical Teacher  
« on: Mar 23rd, 2007, 3:56pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am a whimsical high school teacher with 20 very bright (high IQ) students in my class. I assign each student a unique number (from 1 thru 20) but do not tell them which student is assigned which number.  

I offer the following proposition to the students:

I will ask each one of you (in alphabetical order) to come visit me in the teacher's room.  When you come and meet me, you have to utter a number from 1 thru 20. If your number satisfies certain conditions, I will ensure you get an "A" grade in my class else you will get a "C" grade.  

The conditions for getting an "A" grade are:

1. You uttered the number secretly assigned to you
2. You uttered the number which was uttered by the previous student provided the previous student did not qualify for an "A" grade

You can talk among yourselves before the first student visits me.  Also you will have no knowledge of the grade any other student will get.

What is the strategy that the students should follow to maximise the number of students getting "A" grade.

Contributor's note: Sorry if this puzzle sounds "clunky" - I just made this up 5 minutes ago. It is trivial to ensure at least 50% of the students get "A" grade - for example if everybody uttters "1" at least 50% will get "A" grade
IP Logged
Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
Uberpuzzler

Sorry Goose, it's time to buzz a tower.

Email